Central Bank of Bahrin

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency


Qatar Central Bank


Central Bank of Kuwait


About GMCO

Written by Super User. Posted in GMCO

The GCC Supreme Council in its twenty-ninth session (Muscat, December 2008) approved the Monetary Union Agreement and the Statute of the Monetary Council, which developed the legal and institutional framework for the Monetary Union, and identified the goals and tasks of the Monetary Council. The Member States of the Monetary Union Agreement (the Kingdom of Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and Kuwait) ratified the Agreement, and as a result the Monetary Agreement entered into force on 27 February 2010. According to Article 20 of the Statute of the Monetary Council, the statute becomes effective one month after the date of entring into force of the Monetary Union Agreement. Accordingly, the statute of the monetary council entered into force on 27/3/2010. The Board of Directors of the Gulf Monetary Council (GMCO) held its first meeting on 30 March 2010.

 The Board’s discussions have been mainly focused on the institutional requirements, including strategies and plans to complete the necessary operational requirements of the monetary union. In addition, a statistical Committee was formed to develop statistical systems necessary to achieve the objectives of the Monetary Union.

As a result, a number of administrative and financial regulations of the Council was approved and most recently the board of directors appointed Dr. Khalid Al-Saad from Kuwait as President of the Council. The appointment of Dr. Khalid is an important step in the process of building the executive body of the Council that will enable the Council to achieve its objectives.


Gulf Monetary Council
P.O. Box: 1660
Riyadh 11441
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Fax: +966 1 4564834